go-bindata-html-template  

A while back, I developed a Go web app on Google App Engine, and naturally I used html/templates to render web pages.

In production, ParseFiles calls were failing, and I’m still confused whether reading from the filesystem is allowed and reasonably performant on GAE. I also have some other Go projects that run a web server, and I’d like to ship only a binary, not extra template files.

I’m using go-bindata to bundle my templates with my code. In doing so, I found I had to keep writing error checking code like:

tmplBytes, err := Asset("templates/my_tmpl.tmpl")
if err != nil {
  return err
}
tmpl, err := template.New("tmpl").Parse(string(tmplBytes))
if err != nil {
  return err
}
//...

So, I decided to write a small library with a large (but logical) name to help: go-bindata-html-template.

The library reduces the above code to:

import "github.com/arschles/go-bindata-html-template"

tmpl, err := template.New("tmpl", Asset).ParseFiles("templates/my_tmpl.tmpl")
if err != nil {
  return err
}

go-bindata-html-template implements a subset of the html/template API, but it works for all of my needs and it dropped into my existing project. It’s also just a matter of adding a func if more coverage is needed. I encourage you to try it out, and let me know what you think: https://github.com/arschles/go-bindata-html-template.

 
4
Kudos
 
4
Kudos

Now read this

Why Tech Startups Should Look At Go II

William Kennedy talks in this article about the many technology benefits of Go in the startup ecosystem. Yes, Go is important for your technology stack. If you grow big enough, in fact, you can save a lot of money on servers. But the... Continue →